Celebrating Me!

3 Dec

It’s been long year thus far and I have really been dreading it coming to an end. My birthday is coming and I’ll be hitting the 3-0 milestone this year. I guess you could say I’m having a pre-thirties crises. I used to think being thirty meant REALLY growing up and becoming serious…no more sleeping in till noon, no more nose ring, converse shoes, or hip haircuts. I thought that being thirty meant I should have a “career” not just a job, a college degree, a house of my own, a husband, kids…somehow magically have all my stuff together by this 30 year deadline.

I’ve asked some of my friends who have already passed this milestone and they say the prospect of turning thirty was actually worse than actually turning thirty. So who says what you should and shouldn’t have done with your life at this point? It’s really up to me and how I want to live my life, right? Only I can make the choices and decisions that make me happy no matter what age I am. I set my own deadlines, my own goals, it doesn’t really matter what anyone else thinks.

One of my very best friends likes to celebrate her birthday for the entire month, not just one day. Now that I’ve reached my last thirty days in my 20’s, I’ve decided to make it the best 30 days possible! Who knows, maybe I’ll keep this going past thirty days….Here’s to making me happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

